If you are a parent of young children in Montana, it’s imperative to know these Montana car seat laws which apply whenever you carry child passengers in your vehicle.
Montana car seat laws
Montana law requires that if a child under 6 years of age and with a weight below 60 pounds is aboard a motor vehicle, that motor vehicle must have a properly installed child safety restraint for each child in the vehicle. The child safety restraint should follow the standards of the manufacturer and must be commensurate with the height and weight of the child.
ALSO Top 10 funniest laws in the US you won’t believe existed
When can a child sit in the front seat of a car in Montana?
Montana law permits only children older than thirteen (13) years to sit in the front seat of a motor vehicle, children between 6-13 years of age must be in the backseat and properly buckled up.
Montana Seatbelt Law
Montana law, specifically the Montana seatbelt use act requires all occupants of a motor vehicle to be in seatbelts. The onus is on the driver to ensure that all occupants are properly buckled up before getting the vehicle in motion. Refusing to use a seatbelt attracts a fine of $20.
Penalty for Car seat law violation
Breach of the Montana car seat law on child restraint is punishable by a fine of up to $100.
If the fine is not deterrent enough, consider these facts which shows the risk you subject your children to without a child restraint:
• A common cause of inadvertent injury death for children ages 1-14 in Montana is a motor vehicle crash.
• In the United states, 3 out of 4 children faces safety risks due to incorrectly installed child safety seats.
• Buckled adults are a good example for kids to emulate. A buckled parent ensures a buckled child.
• Child safety seats reduces the risk of death to a child in a vehicle is by as much as 71%.
DO NOT REPUBLISH THIS CONTENT